Show week 

first of all, I’d like to apologise for the lack of blog posts lately, I’ve just had no time whatsoever.
something that I’ve been spending time doing is taking part in a show called me and my girl.
last week was show week and I thought I’d take a moment to talk about it.
show week is long, tiring and stressful but is also a very rewarding, memory filled week that’s consumed with adrenaline and nerves.
 it consists of six shows, a get in, a get out, a tech rehearsal and a dress rehearsal. however exhausting this constant action feels at the time, in this week where I’ve been significantly less busy, I’ve missed it a lot.
something I love about show week is that every day is different, some days the show will go perfectly, some days it seems like there weren’t any more things that could’ve gone wrong but that’s what makes the perfect days so great. regardless of how each individual thinks the show went, the night is always closed with an adrenaline spiking applause and a drink at the bar.
during the week, you grow closer to everyone involved. it feels like a family because of how you see them everyday for a week, and how you all work together to make the show what it is.
even though there are moments where people get frustrated and tired, there are also the moments where you find yourself laughing uncontrollably (in my case this was behind a piece of set for no apparent reason)
my show week was made even better because of how my dad was there to share it with me; he was backstage moving on and off set. this meant that whenever I got offstage we’d have brief little conversations on how the shows going and I also got to watch his starring role as a man in the bar scene which meant he could take off a table while the scene was still happening.
overall show week is an experience, it’s something I enjoy every year, everyone’s emotions are heightened and it’s so different from everything else in my year. although during that week id give anything for a lie in or a break, now it’s over Id give anything to go back.

Leave a comment